[Review] Winger by Andrew Smith

winger

Title: Winger
Author: Andrew Smith
Format: Hardcover
Publication: May 14th 2013 by Simon & Schuster
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Humor
Date Read: May 15, 2015
Pages: 439

Synopsis: 

Ryan Dean West is a fourteen-year-old junior at a boarding school for rich kids in the Pacific Northwest. He’s living in Opportunity Hall, the dorm for troublemakers, and rooming with the biggest bully on the rugby team. And he’s madly in love with his best friend Annie, who thinks of him as a little boy.

With the help of his sense of humor, rugby buddies, and his penchant for doodling comics, Ryan Dean manages to survive life’s complications and even find some happiness along the way. But when the unthinkable happens, he has to figure out how to hold on to what’s important, even when it feels like everything has fallen apart.

Filled with hand-drawn info-graphics and illustrations and told in a pitch-perfect voice, this realistic depiction of a teen’s experience strikes an exceptional balance of hilarious and heartbreaking.

My thoughts:
(Review originally from Goodreads with a few revisions)

“And then it’s always that one word that makes you so different and puts you outside the overlap of everyone else; and that word is so fucking big and loud, it’s the only thing anyone ever hears when your name is spoken.

And whenever that happens to us, all the other words that make us the same disappear in its shadow.”
Andrew Smith, Winger

I AM GONNA FREAKING FLIP!

That is the most evil-est thing I could ever imagine. This would scar me for days. Don’t try to ask me how it ended because I’m going to cry and sleep with something to hug with. This book just gave me my worst nightmares! AGHHH! Andrew Smith, WHY?!

This book started off hilariously until the end which isn’t really funny anymore if you know what I mean. Humor is probably what made this book a lot better. The diagrams and the comics made me crack up a lot. This is the first book that gave me the laughs and smiles, also pain and scars. I love every character in this book. BUT, I just can’t forget about the ending while writing this review. Ugh, you know what, I’m going to go now and cry myself to sleep.

This book is now my most favorite-st book to infinity and beyond greatness. Nothing can describe my love for this book. My love for this is bigger than our universe. Ryan Dean West is fourteen years old and thinks about sex. Like, what the heck? Wow, this kid is going places! Despite that, this book just gave me all the emotions at the same time. I need the second book now!

And if you’re asking if it’s good, yes it is, heartbreakingly good!

Rating:

5 swords

BECAUSE IT FREAKING SLAYS!

12 thoughts on “[Review] Winger by Andrew Smith

Leave a Reply

