[Random Sunday] DRAGONS!

So I have thought that maybe I will feature something random on every Sunday (maybe because I’m bored). And today’s feature will be all about dragons and books. So, who doesn’t like dragons? *chants* Game of Thrones! Game of Thrones!

Today, I’ll be showing my top 5 books about dragons. Some may contain mostly on dragons, some may not. Not all of these are books that I have already read. Hence, the top 5.

To start off, here’s the first book I have read:

(Click the title of the listed books for more info)

1. The Hobbit (J.R.R. Tolkien)

the hobbitIn a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit. Not a nasty, dirty, wet hole, filled with the ends of worms and an oozy smell, nor yet a dry, bare, sandy hole with nothing in it to sit down on or to eat: it was a hobbit-hole, and that means comfort.

Written for J.R.R. Tolkien’s own children, The Hobbit met with instant critical acclaim when it was first published in 1937. Now recognized as a timeless classic, this introduction to the hobbit Bilbo Baggins, the wizard Gandalf, Gollum, and the spectacular world of Middle-earth recounts of the adventures of a reluctant hero, a powerful and dangerous ring, and the cruel dragon Smaug the Magnificent.

This book was so good  freaking awesome! This was the first book that I’ve read with dragons in it. And this was the first Tolkien book that I owned. Don’t judge me. I know I have to read the Lord of the Rings trilogy. I already own them but the edition I own is just so pretty that I don’t know if I’m going to read it, thinking of damaging them somehow.

lotr

Here’s the edition I own, and I also own the movie tie-in edition of The Hobbit, but I love this more. I posted this on my Instagram. Be sure to check it out!

2. Talon (Julie Kagawa)

talon

Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon slayers. Hiding in human form and growing their numbers in secret, the dragons of Talon have become strong and cunning, and they’re positioned to take over the world with humans none the wiser.

Ember and Dante Hill are the only sister and brother known to dragonkind. Trained to infiltrate society, Ember wants to live the teen experience and enjoy a summer of freedom before taking her destined place in Talon. But destiny is a matter of perspective, and a rogue dragon will soon challenge everything Ember has been taught. As Ember struggles to accept her future, she and her brother are hunted by the Order of St. George.

Soldier Garret Xavier Sebastian has a mission to seek and destroy all dragons, and Talon’s newest recruits in particular. But he cannot kill unless he is certain he has found his prey: and nothing is certain about Ember Hill. Faced with Ember’s bravery, confidence and all-too-human desires, Garret begins to question everything that the Order has ingrained in him: and what he might be willing to give up to find the truth about dragons.

I haven’t read this book yet, but the cover is such an eye candy. And the synopsis and the concept of this book are the reasons why this book captivated me the most. Dragons who can turn into human! Were-dragons! So freaking cool! This is beyond awesome! This book is way different from the first book I mentioned because this is a young adult fantasy novel, and The Hobbit is high-fantasy. I hope this book will live up to its premise. Hoping to buy this book soon because I like the covers. The second book was just released this year and it’s called Rogue. It’s going to be a trilogy and the title of the last book is Soldier.

3. Talker 25 (Joshua McCune)

talker 25

Debut author Joshua McCune’s gritty and heart-pounding novel is a masterful reimagining of popular dragon fantasy lore, set in a militant future reminiscent of Paolo Bacigalupi’s Ship Breaker and Ann Aguirre’s Outpost.

It’s a high school prank gone horribly wrong-sneaking onto the rez to pose next to a sleeping dragon-and now senior Melissa Callahan has become an unsuspecting pawn in a war between Man and Monster, between family and friends and the dragons she has despised her whole life. Chilling, epic, and wholly original, this debut novel imagines a North America where dragons are kept on reservations, where strict blackout rules are obeyed no matter the cost, where the highly weaponized military operates in chilling secret, and where a gruesome television show called Kissing Dragons unites the population. Joshua McCune’s debut novel offers action, adventure, fantasy, and a reimagining of popular dragon lore.

I just bought this book earlier and the synopsis of this book sounds really cool. And I just recently chatted with this author, and he’s really nice to talk to. I’m hoping to get into this one real soon, then going to review it afterward. Dragons and a good cover? Yes, please!

4. A Game of Thrones (George R.R. Martin)

game of thrones

Summers span decades. Winter can last a lifetime. And the struggle for the Iron Throne has begun.

As Warden of the north, Lord Eddard Stark counts it a curse when King Robert bestows on him the office of the Hand. His honour weighs him down at court where a true man does what he will, not what he must …and a dead enemy is a thing of beauty.

The old gods have no power in the south, Stark’s family is split and there is treachery at court. Worse, the vengeance-mad heir of the deposed Dragon King has grown to maturity in exile in the Free Cities. He claims the Iron Throne.

So who doesn’t like Game of Thrones? Have you watched the series? Yes, right? Who hasn’t anyway? I have heard so many only good AMAZING things about this series. They said that the book and the TV show are kind of different in some way, but they’re both completely good at a different way. I’m hoping to buy this series soon because this is on my to-buy list for so long. Why did I include this? Because my favorite character in the show is Daenerys Stormborn of the House Targaryen, the First of Her Name, the Unburnt, Queen of Meereen, Queen of the Andals and the Rhoynar and the First Men, Khaleesi of the Great Grass Sea, Breaker of Chains, and Mother of Dragons. Do I even need to explain?

5. Eragon (Christopher Paolini)

eragonOne boy . . .

One dragon . . .

A world of adventure.

When Eragon finds a polished blue stone in the forest, he thinks it is the lucky discovery of a poor farm boy; perhaps it will buy his family meat for the winter. But when the stone brings a dragon hatchling, Eragon soon realizes he has stumbled upon a legacy nearly as old as the Empire itself.

Overnight his simple life is shattered, and he is thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic, and power. With only an ancient sword and the advice of an old storyteller for guidance, Eragon and the fledgling dragon must navigate the dangerous terrain and dark enemies of an Empire ruled by a king whose evil knows no bounds.

Can Eragon take up the mantle of the legendary Dragon Riders? The fate of the Empire may rest in his hands.

Why would I ever forget to include Eragon in this post! However, I haven’t read this book yet. I know, I’m a loser. But I’m a real sucker for dragons! I’m going to need to read this series soon enough. I have been eyeing this 4-book series for a very, very long time, and my friend is urging me to read this series badly because he really liked it.

Okay! you have almost reached the end of this post. But before I end, there’s questions I need to ask. Do you like dragons? Did this post interest you in any way? Thank you all for reading my very first long post. I hope you enjoyed reading this randomness.

12 thoughts on “[Random Sunday] DRAGONS!

  1. Wow, what a great list to be included in! I hope you enjoy Talker. Definitely in the darker flavor of Game of Thrones, but set in the modern day. Can’t wait to hear what you think!

    Like

  2. Wow, what a great list to be included in! I hope you enjoy TALKER! Definitely in the darker flavor of GAME OF THRONES, but set in our world. Can’t wait to hear what you think of it!

    Like

  3. Lol I like this idea, especially for curing boredom. I love dragons too. Saphira is one of my favorites. I read Talon and didn’t like it but I LOVE the cover. I couldn’t stop running my hands all over it. I also like the dragons in Eon by Alison Goodman. They seem to be more spiritual, which was different for me. You might like In Search of Dragons by Elian Black’mor and Carine-M. It’s an illustrated book all about searching for dragons. The illustrations are superb.

    Like

Leave a Reply

