[Random Sunday] CONTEMPORARY!

Okay, I’ll confess. I like to read contemporary books. Well, that wasn’t worth confessing though. Lately these days, I have a fond of reading contemporary books that are popular or books that have a great cover.

So today, I’m posting my Random Sunday chapter again. To do this, I’m just going to post my top 5 of random things (like contemporary today) every Sunday just to satisfy anything I want to post.

And here’s my top 5:

1. Winger by Andrew Smith

winger

Ryan Dean West is a fourteen-year-old junior at a boarding school for rich kids in the Pacific Northwest. He’s living in Opportunity Hall, the dorm for troublemakers, and rooming with the biggest bully on the rugby team. And he’s madly in love with his best friend Annie, who thinks of him as a little boy.

With the help of his sense of humor, rugby buddies, and his penchant for doodling comics, Ryan Dean manages to survive life’s complications and even find some happiness along the way. But when the unthinkable happens, he has to figure out how to hold on to what’s important, even when it feels like everything has fallen apart.

Filled with hand-drawn info-graphics and illustrations and told in a pitch-perfect voice, this realistic depiction of a teen’s experience strikes an exceptional balance of hilarious and heartbreaking.

So if you really know me or if you saw my very first post, you know that Winger is my most favorite contemporary book of all time. Winger is the only book that gave me the laughs and the cries. So if any book that makes hurtful than that, then tell me. And if you haven’t read this book, then what are you doing? Leave the computer or your cellphone and go ahead to the nearest book store there. Just kidding, finish this post first.

I don’t have a lot to say in this post. Just check my first post if you want to know more details on this book. Rest assured that this book will make you laugh hard.

2. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

since you've been gone

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

This book is no-sweat my second favorite book! I love the summer vibe in this book. Well, actually I felt a few summer vibe in this book, but those few were definitely great. I totally recommend you to read this on summer. It was quite boring in the first few pages, but after Emily starts doing the list, everything just kept getting better and better and you will not want it to stop. Definitely must-read, but Winger is the must-read.

3. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

fangirl

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

I quite enjoyed Fangirl. I love every detail in this book. It explains one by one the epitome of being a fangirl. Rainbow Rowell wrote this beautifully and captivated me. Reading this made me a fan of Simon and Baz, and now I can’t wait for the release of Carry On. I recommend this over Eleanor & Park. And I own the pink collector’s edition of this book. Yay!

4. Every Day by David Levithan

every day

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.
There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

This book was brilliant. It was beautifully written. Everything here is perfect, but Winger still wins my heart. I finished this book in one sitting and I really, really love it! The ending wrecked me. I wish it would’ve ended differently. Now I’m really excited to read Another Day. However, I don’t see any reason why a second book is necessary. Levithan should have just made it a standalone.

5. The Beginning of Everything by Robin Schneider

the beginning of everything

Golden boy Ezra Faulkner believes everyone has a tragedy waiting for them—a single encounter after which everything that really matters will happen. His particular tragedy waited until he was primed to lose it all: in one spectacular night, a reckless driver shatters Ezra’s knee, his athletic career, and his social life.

No longer a front-runner for Homecoming King, Ezra finds himself at the table of misfits, where he encounters new girl Cassidy Thorpe. Cassidy is unlike anyone Ezra’s ever met, achingly effortless, fiercely intelligent, and determined to bring Ezra along on her endless adventures.

But as Ezra dives into his new studies, new friendships, and new love, he learns that some people, like books, are easy to misread. And now he must consider: if one’s singular tragedy has already hit and everything after it has mattered quite a bit, what happens when more misfortune strikes?

This book… I have no words for it. I can say that this book broke my heart too. And this book released me from my reading slump. There’s a lot of things going in my mind about this book, but why wouldn’t you just give what Ezra really deserves? I like heart-breaking books. I’m not going to stop reading books with a roller-coaster of feels (get it? obviously, because the cover would probably depict that) And, I’m going to meet Robyn Schneider soon. I’m freaking excited.

-o-

I would’ve inserted Playlist for the Dead, We Were Liars and I’ll Give You the Sun. But those top 5 were the books that really struck me the most.

Thank you maniacs (yes, it’s a thing now) for reading this post and for supporting me all this way. I hope you had fun reading this. And I hope you have a great Sunday. God bless you all! Happy Fathers’ Day to all fathers out there! 🙂

One thought on “[Random Sunday] CONTEMPORARY!

Leave a Reply

