[Review] Ruin and Rising (The Grisha, #3) by Leigh Bardugo

ruin and risingTitle: Ruin and Rising
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Format: Hardcover
Publication: June 17th 2014 by Henry Holt and Co.
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance
Date Read: June 24, 2015
Pages: 422

Synopsis:

The capital has fallen.

The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

My thoughts:

There is no end to our story.

– Leigh Bardugo, Ruin and Rising

An epic conclusion to an average did-not-blow-me-away previous books of the series.

Alina’s character has grown so well from the first until the last part of the book. She has changed; her attitude changed and her personality changed. I have grown quite fond of her because she’s a badass character with her own unexpected disorders.

Now, Mal has blown me away. He is my favorite character in this book, and I just wished he were the protagonist in this series. I would love to see some Malyen Oretsev kicking some asses.

Leigh Bardugo created a world that is <s>impossible</s> improbable. Be it creatures or the people: both created beautifully. The writing of the series was really hard to get into, but it will be all gone as you kept going. The climax of this book and the part where it almost ended made me sad, but the ending just took all my sadness away. Good to see that it was a happy ending after all.

And I’m glad that my one and only ship in this series came to happen finally, resulting to my giving this of 5 stars.

This book was truly unexpected and unique. If you have a vibe on reading fantasies, give this one a go. You won’t regret it! And now, I’m very, very excited to read Six of Crows.

5 swords5 swords for Alina’s badassery.

About the author:

leigh bardugo

Leigh Bardugo is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Grisha Trilogy (Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising).

She was born in Jerusalem, grew up in Los Angeles, and graduated from Yale University, and has worked in advertising, journalism, and most recently, makeup and special effects. These days, she’s lives and writes in Hollywood where she can occasionally be heard singing with her band. Her new book, Six of Crows, arrives fall 2015.

4 thoughts on “[Review] Ruin and Rising (The Grisha, #3) by Leigh Bardugo

  1. “Now, Mal has blown me away. He is my favorite character in this book, and I just wished he were the protagonist in this series. I would love to see some Malyen Oretsev kicking some asses.”

    I LOVE THIS SO MUCH ❤ Mal is my favorite, and I've gotten so tired of people hating on him because he's "too normal" or "the safe choice" or "boring"… Awesome review! =D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

