[Author Interview] Andrew Smith (Author of Grasshopper Jungle, Winger, The Alex Crow)

I am so happy right now because Andrew Smith answered my questions! I am feeling giddy! Thank you so much, you are so nice! Well then, if you don’t know, Andrew Smith is my favorite author. I read his book, Winger, and it became my all-time favorite book. I seriously love it!

About the author:

andrew smith

Andrew Smith is the author of several award-winning novels for young adults, including The Marbury Lens. He lives in a very remote area in the mountains of Southern California with his family, two horses, two dogs, and three cats. He doesn’t watch television, and occupies himself by writing or bumping into things outdoors and taking ten-mile runs on snowy trails. He maintains a blog and website about his strange writing life at ghostmedicine.blogspot.com.

winger100 sideway miles - Copygrasshopper jungle - Copy
the alex crow - Copythe marbury lensghost medicine

So enough stalling.


1. What/Who inspired you to write?

This is a tough question, because I don’t really know. I do know that I started writing stories, poetry, and drawing comics as soon as I could make words and letters. So writing is something I’ve always done, without really questioning–sort of like eating and breathing, I guess.

2. What is the title of your favorite book?

My favorite book that was NOT written by me is BREAKFAST OF CHAMPIONS, by Kurt Vonnegut, closely followed by BLOOD MERIDIAN, by Cormac McCarthy and EXTREMELY LOUD AND INCREDIBLY CLOSE by Jonathon Safran Foer. Sorry, that’s three.

3. Do you eat when writing? If so, what do you eat?

I never eat when I write. Sometimes, I’ll have water or unsweetened ice tea. I know, pretty boring.

4. What is your least favorite thing to do?

My least favorite thing to do is worry. I hate worrying about things. It’s such a useless waste of time. If I could figure out some way of never worrying about things again, I’d be all over that.

5. When you are not writing, what do you do?

I like to run. I run every day, no matter what. In fact, I haven’t missed a day of running in more than 15 years. I also like to be outdoors. I live in the mountains, in a very remote and quiet place. I have horses, chickens, dogs, and one cat.

6. What is your all-time favorite movie and TV show/series?

This is where people will think I’m strange. I never watch TV. I don’t like it at all. So, I don’t know anything about television programs. I’m also very picky about movies, but one of my all-time favorites is HOT FUZZ, by Edgar Wright, a friend of mine.

7. Give your best ‘one’ word to describe your books: Grasshopper Jungle, Winger and The Alex Crow.

GRASSHOPPER JUNGLE–insane

WINGER–funny

THE ALEX CROW–sad

8. Which of your books was the most enjoyable to write?

I think I had the best time writing GRASSHOPPER JUNGLE, because I wasn’t going to let anyone read it. So it was a very personally liberating experience. I still can’t believe I let my agent talk me into submitting it to be published.

9. Can you give an advice to aspiring writers out there?

Unplug yourselves from your computers/televisions/smartphones and get out there and bump into things. There is no substitute for the human experience–good, bad, and otherwise. It’s the real stuff that will turn you into poets and storytellers. Everything else is just artificial flavoring.


So there you have it, guys! An awesome interview with an awesome person. I seriously hope that someday I could meet him and probably die in front of him. Lol, just kidding!

And guys, don’t forget to check out his latest book, Stand-Off, sequel of Winger. It will come out on September 8 and I’m freaking excited!

stand off

 

His books are available on:
Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks

They are also available in the Philippines:
National Book Store | Fully Booked

7 thoughts on “[Author Interview] Andrew Smith (Author of Grasshopper Jungle, Winger, The Alex Crow)

  1. I’m a little confused. On the overview it said he had 3 cats, but on question #5 it says he has one cat. So how many does he have?

    Btw loved the post and it’s so cool that he answered you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

