[Review] A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1) by Sarah J. Maas

a court of thorns and rosesTitle: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publication: May 5th 2015 by Bloomsbury Children’s
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.


Shelf this on Goodreads.

Also, you can buy this on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks

My thoughts:

This is beyond from what I expected this to be.

I really love Sarah J Maas’ writing. She writes like she does not put a big effort on writing this book. This was beautifully written and really easy to get into. So, if you just read contemporary and want to read fantasy, it would be really easy to flip the pages. Throughout this book, I didn’t get bored and everything was a page-turner. And, I have heard a lot of great things about this book, and gladly, it didn’t disappoint. It was a fun, quick read filled with detailed fantasy world and creatures.

I wanted to fade into it, wanted the light of that sun to burn me away, to fill me with such joy that I would become a ray of sunshine myself. This wasn’t music to dance to– it was music to worship, music to fill in the gaps of my soul, to bring me to a place where there was no pain.

Feyre is a merely mundane hunter. She lives in a world where human and faeries are divided. Faeries own most of the land in this world. A big wall blocks the land of the human and the faeries. She started as a simple, poor and loving daughter who helped her sisters, Elain and Nesta, get out of misery. She developed as time goes by in the Spring Court where she currently lives to compensate for the crime she did.

Tamlin is an immortal high-lord faerie. He lives in the Spring Court with Lucien who is also a faerie. Basically, two of them played an important role in this book which helped in making this book way better. And there’s also this male faerie, Rhysand, but I’m not going to talk about him.

Now we go on to this evil faerie which goes by the name Amarantha. I think I just found myself a new hate-able villain. I applaud Sarah J Maas for a spectacular job on making me hate a villain (finally waiting for this for an eternity). Amarantha is the queen. The queen that deserves to die.

“I love you,” he whispered, and kissed my brow. “Thorns and all.”

feels

Okay, look whose heart just broke. Yes, it was mine. Knowing that this book is a fairy-tale retelling with a whiff of faerie lore, I’m just completely mind-blown. The world she created is beyond what I expected from this book. Nagas, Suriels, and more. I need a bestiary for this book!

Although I have lots of positive feedback on this book, I also have one problem. I just think there’s something lacking in this book. I don’t know what, but there was just something wrong.

I am expecting more greatness on Sarah J Maas’ Throne of Glass series because everyone is raving over it.

4 swords4 swords for its epic-ness.


About the author:

sarah j maas

Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

7 thoughts on “[Review] A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I loved your review! I’m so glad you enjoyed ACOTAR. If you haven’t read her ToG series, it’s definitely worth it. My favorite in the series is the third one! The first one is not the best for sure, so I hope you go into it with an open mind and don’t let the hype ruin it for you ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

