[Review] Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

simon vs the homo sapiens agenda

Title: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Author: Becky Albertalli
Publication: April 7th 2015 by Balzer + Bray
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBTQ
Pages: 303
Format: Hardcover

 Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.


Shelf this on Goodreads!

Also, you can buy this on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks

My thoughts:

THIS IS SUCK AN ADORABLE BOOK. Wait, dick an adorable book. No! I mean it’s SUCH an adorable book!

The writing style is so simple that it hooks you in every moment and it will never let go (but Jack did). The mystery itself in this book will make your eyes crave for more words and will make your hands flip the pages. Everything is just too swoon-worthy for me. Even though I rarely read these kinds of books, this book got me enamored.

The Homosexual Agenda? I don’t know. I think it’s more like the Homo Sapiens Agenda. That’s really the point, right?

Simon, of all people, just became one of my spirit animals. He’s so funny and shy, and those are what made me like him. He sends e-mail like a pro, proofreading it multiple times before clicking ‘send’ to not disappoint his one and only mysterious love who he hasn’t even met yet.

Yes, Simon is gay. So what? I like how this book is all about being diverse, and it never failed to impress the readers. I have read a lot, wait. A LOT of awesome reviews on this book and seriously, this has become one of my best reads this year. Although some of the parts in this book were a tad unrealistic. I was expecting their parents to get mad or something because that’s what makes up the society today.

I did my best to finish this book, well, forced is a better word. I stayed up all night and it was all worth it. What I like about this book is that the author kept Blue’s mysterious identity as a secret which has delivered a lasting thrill throughout the book. Finishing this book was hard because I didn’t want it to end. Jacques’ (Simon) and Blue’s (*beep*) e-mail messages to each other are what I was looking forward to every time. I just want more. More. Give me a sequel. Or a movie, please?i want more

Simon is too cute when he sends clues to Blue about who he is. And always sexually desires to meet Blue, imagining that he is kissing (probably French, who knows?) with Blue and doing some you-know-what stuffs that could happen between them.

Simon’s parents are to-die-for; they are so funny and they are supportive in anything their children do. So that’s a plus. Can I order a supportive family, please? No? Okay. Now to Simon’s friends, Leah, Abby and Nick, they’re such good friends. Everything is perfect here.

Martin, Simon’s blackmailer, finds out that Simon is gay through reading his e-mail with Blue.

AND PLEASE, LET US NOT FORGET OREOS! Oreos are the talk of the town here! My mouth itches for all Oreos possible everytime I read anything about them. Fried Oreos with ice cream on top are the best, just saying.

But I’m tired of coming out. All I ever do is come out. I try not to change, but I keep changing, in all these tiny ways. I get a girlfriend. I have a beer. And every freaking time, I have to reintroduce myself to the universe all over again.

If you get to the ending, it will become so much cuter. It’s debatable though if you think that their e-mails are more adorable and cuter.  If you’re asking if this is a really good book, it’s obviously yes. A gazillions of YES!

5 swordsUndeniably 5 swords for this fun and cute book!


About the author:

View More: http://thedecisivemoment.pass.us/becky-headshots

Becky Albertalli is a clinical psychologist who has had the privilege of conducting therapy with dozens of smart, weird, irresistible teenagers. She also served for seven years as co-leader of a support group for gender nonconforming children in Washington, DC. She now lives in her family in Atlanta. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is her first novel.

2 thoughts on “[Review] Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Leave a Reply

