[Review] Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith

hello, goodbye, and everything in between

Title: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Publication: September 1st 2015 by Poppy
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 256

Format: ARC

On the night before they leave for college, Clare and Aidan only have one thing left to do: figure out whether they should stay together or break up. Over the course of twelve hours, they’ll retrace the steps of their relationship, trying to find something in their past that might help them decide what their future should be. The night will lead them to friends and family, familiar landmarks and unexpected places, hard truths and surprising revelations. But as the clock winds down and morning approaches, so does their inevitable goodbye. The question is, will it be goodbye for now or goodbye forever?


Shelf this on Goodreads!

Also, you can pre-order it on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks

(For Philippines) This book will also be available in National Book Store on its release date, be                              sure to check it out!

My thoughts: 

As much as I have enjoyed reading her other three books, this was the book that I felt bland and boring. Don’t get me wrong. Her other three books are completely different from this. She tried writing a love story in a different perspective, and I could just say that this didn’t turn out to be the book that I would think that I would love.

This book started with two lovers with long distance hindering their relationship, leading them to maybe break up or not. The characters were cute, but they were completely b-o-r-i-n-g. I wanted to enjoy another of her book, but I think she should’ve written a book that is way up her alley.

That being said, I will still read any of her books because this book did quite entertain me. But I hope it won’t fail because I want to love a book that is written by someone I met and I still adore.

“I would’ve waited all day. I probably would’ve waited forever.”

I was glad this was short because the introduction to this story was nonsensical and I just didn’t know where the story was going to… until the end. The end was the most enjoyable part in this book where the answer to the awaited question of breaking up or not will be revealed.

Contrary to the negative aspects of what I have said about this book, I love the adventure– the “scavenger hunt”– which made everything much more fun and exciting. Every place they have gone to holds a dear memory to them. Memories they want to treasure as they part ways.

adventure

Clare is a girl who only says the three-magic-words, I love you, to someone who will be with her forever and ever. She is an I-love-you virgin. For me, she’s a selfish idiot. I don’t know. Why can’t she just say those words if she doesn’t want him to leave her?

Aidan is so unrealistic. He’s not the kind of guy you can see somewhere. A man who will sacrifice his time and a man who is understanding. It’s too fictional for me though. Unless it’s me. Well maybe I’m that man. *clears throat*

All this, and the only thing it means is goodbye.

I guess I’m not that big of a fan of contemporary novels, unless they’re really great then I would recommend them to everyone. But this book is not just for me.

3 swordsI love dove this book.


About the author:

jennifer e smith

Jennifer E. Smith is the author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Storm Makers, You Are Here, and The Comeback Season. She earned her master’s degree in creative writing from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, and currently works as an editor in New York City. Her writing has been translated into 28 languages.

2 thoughts on “[Review] Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith

Leave a Reply

