[Author Interview] Randy Ribay (Author of An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes)

Not so long ago, I interviewed the awesome Randy Ribay. He’s Filipino like me which is cool, right? Right. He is a debut author of a contemporary novel entitled An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes and it will come out on October 6. So put it on your to-be-read list!

About the author:

randy ribay

Randy Ribay is the debut author of the contemporary YA novel AN INFINITE NUMBER OF PARALLEL UNIVERSES (Merit Press, October 2015). He’s also a book reviewer & blogger for THE HORN BOOK and a high school English teacher. He can be found in Camden, NJ walking his dog-children, gaming, or making lightsaber sound effects with his mouth.

an infinite number of parallel universes


  1. What/Who inspired you to write?

Other storytellers. I love it when I read a book, watch a movie or TV show, or play a game that moves me deeply, that disrupts my life and reminds me what it means to be human. Those are the kinds of stories I wanted to create.

  1. What is the title of your favorite book?

As any bibliophile will probably say, that’s an impossible question! So I’m going to cheat and name several: The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling, Cane by Jean Toomer, If Beale Street Could Talk by James Baldwin, The Autobiography of Malcolm XNoli Me Tangere by Jose Rizal, The Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie, The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros, We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami, A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin…I could go on, but I’ll stop there!

  1. Do you eat when writing? If so, what do you eat?

Nope. I just have an IV in my arm that delivers coffee straight into my bloodstream.

  1. What is your least favorite thing to do?

Wear pants.

  1. When you are not writing, what do you do?

I’m either teaching high school English (with pants on), reading, watching TV, playing video games, or napping with my two dogs on the couch.

  1. What is your all-time favorite movie and TV show/series?

Again I’m going to cheat and say several…

Movies: Star Wars, The HP films, Garden State, Thin Red Line, Interstellar, The Land Before Time

TV: Battlestar Galactica, The Wire, Friday Night Lights, The Simpsons (seasons 1-10), Bachelor in Paradise

  1. Give your best ‘one’ word to describe your upcoming book: An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes.

Geektastical.

  1. What’s the feeling that your upcoming book will almost finally be released?

I have a LOT of mixed feelings. There’s certainly the excitement of achieving a lifelong goal, but I am not without anxiety, which I detailed in a recent blog post.

  1. Can you give an advice to aspiring writers out there?

It’s been said a million times before, but I think you just need to read and write a lot. Don’t worry about writing a masterpiece. Just try to get some words down every day–even if its just a few hundred at a time–and then remind yourself that you can fix them later. Like any skill, your writing only improves with practice.


It’s been a long time since I did an interview. I hope you enjoyed reading my interview with Randy Ribay. Have an awesome day, guys! 🙂

2 thoughts on “[Author Interview] Randy Ribay (Author of An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes)

  1. I didn’t know the author of this awesome book is a Filipino! Cheers to Pinoy writers! Proud kapwa here. 🙂 Anyway, his book is really good, I haven’t read but I can feel it. I hope to get a copy of his book soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

