[Review] Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith

grasshopper jungle - Copy

Title: Grasshopper Jungle
Author: Andrew Smith
Publication: February 11th 2014 by Dutton Books
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, LGBT
Pages: 388
Format: Hardcover

 Sixteen-year-old Austin Szerba interweaves the story of his Polish legacy with the story of how he and his best friend , Robby, brought about the end of humanity and the rise of an army of unstoppable, six-foot tall praying mantises in small-town Iowa.

To make matters worse, Austin’s hormones are totally oblivious; they don’t care that the world is in utter chaos: Austin is in love with his girlfriend, Shann, but remains confused about his sexual orientation. He’s stewing in a self-professed constant state of maximum horniness, directed at both Robby and Shann. Ultimately, it’s up to Austin to save the world and propagate the species in this sci-fright journey of survival, sex, and the complex realities of the human condition.


Shelf it on Goodreads!

Also, you can buy it on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | KoboiBooks

My thoughts:

What are my thoughts exactly? Except that it is really weird, and in a weird way, I really enjoyed reading it despite the fact that Andrew mentioned a lot of things that are cringe-worthy to my mind. He really had a way of making us remember stuff in his writing style, and that’s what I really like about him as an author.

Horniness is really a problem in this book. Austin, the main character, has an uncontrollable horniness where they come and go unexpectedly. I have probably read the word “horny” for like a thousand times if I’m not exaggerating. There are also words that are stuck in my head because of this book like “sexual intercourse”, “semen” and some character names that I really don’t want to remember, but Andrew really likes me to do so.

It was so hard for me to get into this book because of school works, but now, I finally finished it. For me, this book started off not so good, and the start was really uninteresting. The middle part was what I really like and what kept me going to finish this beautiful book. I am secretly wishing that the start could have been cut and started with the middle then I would have been able to really enjoy reading this.

Good books are about everything.

I did enjoy this book, but I like to compare things, and as a matter of fact, I did with his novel Winger. I did not say that this book is horrible, but Winger is that good and it has been my all-time favorite book. This book was quite disappointing, but I kept telling myself that Winger is a book that he’s written recently, so probably he already knows his mistake or something.

Honestly, his writing style on this one was really hard to read, although I enjoyed the whiff of humor he added. But there were really something wrong in this book that I really did not like. Okay, setting aside the pessimistic view, this book has the best closure. I love how it ended, because I think it gave me a lot of feels from Robby Brees and Andrzej Szczerba (or Austin Szerba). Their friendship may be weird, but sometimes, I really want it to have it (except Robby being gay, not that I hate gays).

I love Shann Collins so much I am afraid it is killing me.
I love Robby Brees the same way
I am an unstoppable train wreck to their lives.

Not gonna lie, the climax until the end were so good that I’m really craving for more. Believe me when I say Austin is not the only weird character in this book because praying mantises are weirder than him and his hormones. Those insects are incredibly large in this book who only do two things: f*ck and eat. Okay, that was weird for me to type. Anyway, this book was fairly good, and probably my least favorite Andrew Smith book for now, having read Winger and Stand-Off which are equally good for me.

4 swords4 swords for weird quirkiness.


About the author:

andrew smith

Andrew Smith is the author of several award-winning novels for young adults, including The Marbury Lens. He lives in a very remote area in the mountains of Southern California with his family, two horses, two dogs, and three cats. He doesn’t watch television, and occupies himself by writing or bumping into things outdoors and taking ten-mile runs on snowy trails. He maintains a blog and website about his strange writing life at ghostmedicine.blogspot.com.

6 thoughts on “[Review] Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith

    1. Well, he’s the king of weirdness. And also, don’t worry about “uncontrollable hormones”, I bet you’ll see it on every chapter, so prepare your eyes for a feast of horniness. Kidding! I hope you do enjoy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

