[Review] November 9 by Colleen Hoover

november 9

Title: November 9
Author: Colleen Hoover
Publication: November 10th 2015 by Atria Books
Genre: New Adult, Romance
Pages: 307
Format: ARC

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day of her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.


Shelf it on Goodreads!

Also, you can buy it on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | KoboiBooks

My thoughts:

I thought Confess was incredibly good, but November 9 easily topped it. This book started off with a fun and romantic setting that you will really enjoy reading. Ben and Fallon are both funny on engaging conversations that made me laugh at some point. Their relationship will look unrealistic at the start, but it’s really not.

Colleen Hoover has really hit me in the feels. Never have I ever expected to read a New Adult book, but I already read 2 books from this genre and it’s both written by Colleen. She knows how to write that will make you love the characters and break your heart at the same time.

“You’ll never be able to find yourself if you’re lost in someone else.”

There are many times that I can relate to this book, especially on Ben’s passion for writing. Reading this book was absolutely a fun rollercoaster ride, from happiness to heartbreak, then to happiness again. The twist from this book was really shocking, having expected nothing at all. I thought this book was just going to be fun and fun and fun, but it turned out to have a teensy bit of misery that will make your eyes water, or worse, cry a river.

I now declare November 9 as my favorite romance novel. I wish it could be adapted to a movie because I really pictured it to be one while reading it. I bet it will be a tearjerker. This book is not simply what you expect, but it will definitely blow your mind.

Fallon is an actress whose father is an actor, and Ben is an aspiring writer who begins to have inspiration being with Fallon. November 9 is a date that they have planned to meet every year, torturing themselves for not meeting at all besides that day. However, something happened that totally challenged them.

“When you’re willing to give up the things that mean the most to you just to see someone else happy, that’s real love.”

I did not want this book to end because it feels like a book that will give me a hangover, but I finished it anyway (so #yolo). My favorite part of this book that the story only revolves on the 9th of November, so basically it’s every year Colleen Hoover writes: 1st November 9, 2nd November 9, and so on. It’s so unique that I just want to hug this book all day long and fall in love with the characters.

To give you a hint, New Adult is something that I will look forward to, especially Colleen Hoover’s books since I can easily fall in love with her writing style and her characters. She has never failed me yet, and I hope she would not. Confess and November 9 are both fun reads that will definitely break or mend your heart.

5 swords5 swords for stabbing me in the heart. (get it?)


About the author:

colleen hoover

Colleen Hoover is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Slammed, Point of Retreat, This Girl, Hopeless, Losing Hope, Finding Cinderella, Maybe Someday, Ugly Love, and Maybe Not. She lives in Texas with her husband and their three boys.

Leave a Reply

