[Review] Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1) by Sarah J. Maas

throne of glass

Title: Throne of Glass
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publication: May 7th 2013 by Bloomsbury USA Children’s
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 404
Format: Hardcover

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.


Shelf it on Goodreads!

Also, you can buy it on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | KoboiBooks

My thoughts:

This book, without a doubt, refreshed my soul. It is hard to please me when I’m reading fantasy books, but having read A Court of Thorns and Roses, I instantly know that Sarah J. Maas is an amazing author and I will keep reading her books. Even a lot of people say that. I heard lots of great things about this book, and it did not disappoint at all, well a little.

Forced by tons of people I know from Instagram, Twitter and blogs, I was intimidated and scared to start this series, for it was accounted as one of the best fantasy books that they have read. Finishing this, I completely agree. Sacrificing my time to finish this series with hefty books will definitely be worth it.

“I like music because when I hear it, I … I lose myself within myself, if that makes sense. I become empty and full all at once, and I can feel the whole earth roiling around me. When I play, I’m not … for once, I’m not destroying. I’m creating.

Although this one was an interesting read, the start did not really grab my attention. I was thinking of putting it down because it was not really exciting, but continuing on reading made me realize that I’m wrong. As I kept on reading, it started to bring me excitement one-by-one and that’s what I want from a book. I do not want inconsistency in a book because it just makes me not like it.

Also, this being recommended to me was not the only reason why I bought this series. I just thought that they actually look good in my book shelves, thus the loss of money for a good cause (hopefully). Well, not really a big loss of money because I won the series with A Court of Thorns and Roses on a giveaway on Instagram, and the second book is signed (lucky me, yay!). I just bought The Assassin’s Blade, Throne of Glass and Queen of Shadows

Now onto the characters, Celaena Sardothien is the epitome of complete badassery, kickassery and smartassery (?). This is the first book I’ve read that depict a villain in the story being a good one for once. She is shipped for multiple times to Dorian and Chaol, but at first, I shipped her with Nox. Am I really that weird? Although I like her having relationship with Dorian more than Chaol. But sometimes, I ship her with Chaol. Okay, brain, make up your mind!

Was there music playing? She’d forgotten. The world had shrunk into nothing, dissolved by the golden glow of candles. But there were her feet, and here was her arm, and her neck, and her mouth. She smiled and took his hand, still keeping one eye on the ball around them.

Celaena is a known assassin that has been selected to play by the Crown Prince, Dorian, in a game created by the king himself with the participation of all the authorities in Erilea with their own Champions. Winning this game means Celaena’s awaited freedom. As time goes by, her relationships with Chaol and Dorian started to attach more as they were helping her to win in this game.

This sounds like The Hunger Games and to me, it really feels like it but somehow, on some point, it isn’t. If you enjoy that series, you’ll definitely enjoy this one. Now, let’s hop onto the Throne of Glass bandwagon, and at the same time, enjoy raving how amazing this series is with people around the world.

4 swords4 swords for pure awesomeness!


About the author:

sarah j maas

Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series, as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

Leave a Reply

