[Review] Glass Sword (Red Queen, #2) by Victoria Aveyard

glass sword

Title: Glass Sword
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Publication: February 9th 2015 by HarperTeen
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 448
Format: ARC

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?


Shelf it on Goodreads!

Also, you can now buy it on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | KoboiBooks

My thoughts: (may contain a few spoilers)

This is not better than the first one. I like the first one better; it has more action, more dramatic tension, and more surprises. It seems to be that my problem on this book is the style of writing. I had a hard time reading it; however, it has become easier as I went on reading. The action started to appear, and the drama started to develop.

I definitely had a The Young Elites vibe while reading this one. Somehow, there are a lot of things that I could compare from the concept of this and The Young Elites. The ending of The Rose Society seems the same with the ending of this book (for me). Nevertheless, both of them have something unique and incomparable to each other.

If I am a sword, I am a sword made of glass, and I feel myself beginning to shatter.

I did not see much development from Mare Barrow as I have expected to happen. One thing just changed from her– her pride– and it totally gave her some advantage on this book. Also, lots of characters like Nix, Cameron, and Jon possess supernatural powers and they started to appear, helping Mare’s certain mission. Shade is now well-introduced in the book, showing what Mare’s brother is really capable of.

Glass Sword started to grab my attention as they commenced their hunt. Everything went better and better until the end which I didn’t happen to like (just kidding!), I love it! It made me release all my hate to the antagonist, and for ruining everyone’s lives again. I never anticipated this twist which I think is better than the first book.

I have always been shipping Mare to Cal, but why can’t I see it happening in this book? I demand more passion from them both. Cal has been helping Mare from the start, and I seriously demand more passion. On Red Queen, I was shipping Maven and Mare so hard, but now, I don’t think so.

To rise. And rise alone. I see you as you could become, no longer the lightning, but the storm. The storm that will swallow the world entire.

I put down this hefty book before because I didn’t feel like reading it yet. Now, I finished it and was glad that I did, because it is amazing. As soon as they start they adventure, everything starts to get exciting and heart-pounding. From Mare Barrow’s electrokinetic power to her team’s unbelievable supernatural powers to defeat everyone that has made the life of the Red-and-Silver blooded people horrible.

Moreover, the cover of this book is honestly beautiful like the first book. Hats-off to the cover designer! The cover is as good as the book. If you like Red Queen, read this and it will not disappoint.

4 swords4 swords for the twisted twist.


About the author:

victoria aveyard

Victoria Aveyard was born and raised in East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, a small town known only for the worst traffic rotary in the continental United States. She moved to Los Angeles to earn a BFA in screenwriting at the University of Southern California. She currently splits her time between the East and West Coasts. As an author and screenwriter, she uses her career as an excuse to read too many books and watch too many movies.

8 thoughts on “[Review] Glass Sword (Red Queen, #2) by Victoria Aveyard

  1. Love your review. I am (in)patiently awaiting a copy of the Red Queen from the library. I can’t wait to read both and get in on the excitement with everyone else over this series.

    Like

  2. I totally agree with your review. I actually found myself bored during the first 100 or so pages and not caring what happened to Mare. I was soooo looking forward to this sequel too! But I stuck with it, and like you, once they began their hunt for the other Red-Silvers, it picked up. The ending was brilliant!

    Like

Leave a Reply

