[Review] The Rose Society (The Young Elites, #2) by Marie Lu

the rose society

Title: Rose Society
Author: Marie Lu
Publication: October 13th 2015 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 395
Format: Hardcover

Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all.

Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she and her sister flee Kenettra to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers who nearly killed her.

But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good, when her very existence depends on darkness?


Shelf it on Goodreads!

Also, you can buy it on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | KoboiBooks

My thoughts: (may contain spoilers)

I AM COMPLETELY BLOWN AWAY! 

mindblown

Marie Lu has done it again, and this book may be the best book I have ever read from her. It was heart-poundingly amazing, having made me flip the pages swiftly. Every word left me itching for more. I didn’t want it to end, it was beautiful. Please believe me when I say that I was waiting for a book that would make me use that gif above, and now I have a reason.

From the beginning until the end, Marie Lu made it as interesting as possible. I never thought that this sequel would be better than the Young Elites, now, this book proved me wrong. I was very, very wrong. This book has all the elements that will make you have a love-and-hate relationship with the protagonist. I couldn’t believe that I would love Adelina Amouteru as much as I would hate her in a good way. Marie Lu has made an excellent job on doing so.

As I read the acknowledgments, Marie Lu said that this book was the darkest she has ever written, and I completely agree. Never have I ever read something this dark; it’s like I couldn’t see anything anymore than Adelina’s pure darkness from The Young Elites to The Rose Society. I don’t know if Adelina is going to be a villain or a hero. I am baffled. Very baffled.

Why are powerful men so stupid around a pretty face?

I don’t know how Marie Lu wrote from YA dystopia to YA fantasy, but it’s legit awesome. The Young Elites made me applaud her more. She has brought something great to the Young Adult genre, and this has made me want to buy anything written by her. Anything, no exception at all. I am not disappointed at all, except for the cover of this book. It just don’t match with the first one, but it’s fine, as long as I have read a GREAT (wait, great is an understatement. Maybe, so-awesome-that-it-made-me-want-to-bawl-my-eyes-out GREAT) book.

The story revolves around a protagonist named Adelina Amouteru who suffered grave pain from what happened on the first book (not going to say anything spoiler-y), and planning a revenge to everyone who caused her pain. Having experienced love ended having experienced pain and longingness.

“I pledge myself to the Rose Society until the end of my days.”

This book is way twisted than you can imagine. It will definitely draw you in by Adelina’s lost sanity, leaving you longing for more from her. I like how Marie Lu made Adelina kind-of insane with her hallucinations, and how she made it difficult for her protagonist to move on from her life and successfully complete her mission.

The characters were also amazing, having a great addition of characters like Magiano, Sergio, Maeve and Tristan which really helped in making this book heart-achingly exciting and action-packed. I also love how Violetta was given more nice spotlight in this sequel than the first book. Violetta, Adelina’s little sister, had a good development, possessing a practiced and controlled magic skills. Magiano, the mimicker, has probably the best power for me among all the Elites (if you read this book, you’ll know why).

Moreover, the pacing of this book was perfect. It succeeded in grabbing my interest from start to end. Also, the ending of this book will absolutely kill you as I have experienced. It’s not like any ending I have ever read. This is way different and has impacted my view for this book. The ending made this book better, and how Adelina has developed throughout the book. Overall, perfect. Marie Lu has created another masterpiece. Hands down!

5 swords5 swords for complete perfection


About the author:

marie lu

Marie Lu graduated from the University of Southern California and jumped into the video game industry, working for Disney Interactive Studios as a Flash artist. Now a full-time writer, she spends her spare time reading, drawing, playing Assassin’s Creed, and getting stuck in traffic. She lives in Los Angeles, California (see above: traffic), with one boyfriend, one Chihuahua mix, and two Pembroke Welsh corgis.

Leave a Reply

