[Bookish Show-Off] George R.R. Martin vs. J.R.R. Tolkien

I wanted to do something new on my blog and here it is, a showing-off of the books or anything book-related that I own that I am proud of owning. Recently, I have acquired a box set of the new leather bound edition of the series A Song of Ice and Fire written by George R.R. Martin, and way way before, I bought J.R.R. Tolkien’s masterpiece, Lord of the Rings. Both of them are in leather bound edition and both are my treasured box sets.

To personally start off this post, I’m going to show you pictures of these box sets.

A Song of Ice and Fire and Lord of the Rings in one picture:

got and lotr

Individual pictures:

A Song of Ice and Fire

got

Lord of the Rings

lotr2

Undeniably, both of these box sets are AMAZING. Not going to lie. These books are pretty small to read, but still a beauty, aren’t they?

So, the real question remains:

Which leather-bound box set do I like best?

This is hard. I don’t know which box set to choose. *insert slow drum roll*

Okay, I have to choose Lord of the Rings because for me, this is more good in pictures. It looks *sexy*. The colors of the covers are pretty much aesthetic. I am not basing this on the books they write but the covers of their books.


How about you? Which box set do you like best?

END 3

47 thoughts on “[Bookish Show-Off] George R.R. Martin vs. J.R.R. Tolkien

  1. These are so pretty I want to cry. I think I like the Song of Ice and Fire one better simply because pretty colors make my heart melt.

    Like

  2. Omg, This is like ‘All I want your Christmas’ ❀️ … Both the book sets look so good!
    But I’d definitely opt for GOT! Pinks and Purple are my thing + I’m a huge GOT fan! Totally biased 😜

    Like

  3. Your book collections of Lord of the Rings and the A Song of Ice and Fire books are great! I hope GRRM gets the next two books out quickly (I know… I know… I’ll be dead before book 7) so you can add them to your collection.

    Since you brought up LotR and GoT in the same post, I hope you don’t mind mentioning my article on who the orcs of Moria would be identifying with if they were watching Game of Thrones (using Sauron’s subscription to HBO and his high-definition palantir…)

    http://patricksponaugle.com/2015/01/06/the-orcish-perspective-on-game-of-thrones/

    Like

    1. I know, right? I haven’t read both of these series and I feel guilty about it but I have watched them. The box set of A Song of Ice and Fire makes me guilty the most because there are still 2 more books to be published. Will check your post soon! Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. wow that LOTR set is unbelievably beautiful I absolutely adore the set. also, the books are awesome I just picked up ‘A Dictionary of Tolkien’ from a fab store in London which has a gorgeous brown leather imprinted cover, it’s a nerdy paradise!

    Like

    1. I’ve been seeing that dictionary everywhere and I really want to buy that. They don’t sell it locally, so I’ll probably stay at my home and wait patiently for that book to come to me by itself. Haha! Yes, the LOTR set is so beautiful! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. As beautiful as they both are my choice will always be the Lord of the Rings. Just looking at that box set makes me fall into the world of Middle-earth. Plus, technically the Song of Ice and Fire set is incomplete haha.

    Like

  6. I could stare at them forever! I think I actually prefer the ASOIAF ones just because the variety of colour but I really do like the way the LOTR ones are smoother (and the colour of The Hobbit is so pretty <3) This was a fun way to show off the books. Lovely photos and post Justine! πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. The Game of Thrones one is spectacular, yet evil. The bright colours give the illusion of a happy story then BAM, it couldn’t be more wrong! For that purpose I will say A Song of Ice and Fire

    Like

  8. Wow. These are both so beautiful! I especially love the LOTR box set. I’m really curious to know what the LOTR books look like on the inside. πŸ™‚
    Do you have a link to a seller?

    Like

Leave a Reply

