[Review] How Hard Can Love Be? (Normal, #2) by Holly Bourne

how hard can love be

Title: How Hard Can Love Be?
Author: Holly Bourne
Publication: February 1st 2016 by Usborne Publishing Ltd
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 480
Format: ARC

All Amber wants is a little bit of love. Her mum has never been the caring type, even before she moved to California, got remarried and had a personality transplant. But Amber’s hoping that spending the summer with her can change all that.

And then there’s prom king Kyle, the guy all the girls want. Can he really be interested in anti-cheerleader Amber? Even with best friends Evie and Lottie’s advice, there’s no escaping the fact: love is hard.


Shelf it on Goodreads!

Also, you can pre-order it on: Amazon | Book DepositoryKobo | iBooks

My thoughts (spoiler-free):

I received a review ARC from Usborne in exchange for an honest review.  This does not influence my review.

This book is about Evie’s friend, Amber. I love how Holly Bourne changed from Evie’s point-of-view to Amber’s. This is different from me, and in some aspect, I like the idea of it. Although, the first book’s ending just made me crave more for Evie’s story. This series revolves around these three friends namely: Evie, Amber and Lottie. The first book is all about Evie and her disorder; now it’s all about Amber and her story about family, friendship and love.

Still, the author captured my heart again. It’s not about OCD anymore, but it’s far different from the first book. No more disorders. No more uncontrollable urges to clean everything. However, it’s more about finding love on family and someone special. Like the first book, even though it took me a long time to finish this (I blame school and the assignments), I still flipped through the pages like there’s no tomorrow.

“Life doesn’t always have to be about changing the world. Sometimes it’s about living your life for you…trying to find some happiness, completely selfishly, but just for you…and you should adopt the same lack of fear you have in your feminism to your search for happiness.

It’s a fun book filled with swoon-worthy characters in a world of reality. Holly Bourne sure knows how to make everything real because even though contemporary is not my number one genre, she still successfully captivated me. She creates everything perfectly– a perfect blend of romance.

This is probably my second most favorite ARC ever. I love how bright the cover is, and the quote on the front page just sold me. Never have I ever seen an ARC like this before, so a big thumbs up to the publisher. So there’s nothing much to talk about the cover because I liked this one better than Am I Normal Yet?‘s cover.

“Failure is never getting hurt. Because that means you’ve not done anything you cared about.”

There had been a lot of inconsistencies in this book that made me disappointed. Sometimes, it gets interesting; sometimes, it does not. In my opinion, Gangnam Style was already meh and I didn’t like seeing that song in this book. Except when I saw the song Mr. Brightside on the first book. That actually made me sort-of bias on the first book. (I secretly adore that song. Not a secret now though.)

Overall, another enjoyable book from Holly Bourne’s masterpieces. I definitely can’t wait to read the third book, and obviously, it’s going to be from Lottie’s perspective (right, Holly?). I really enjoy the author’s style of writing. Cheers to The Spinsters Club, not that I am in the club though. Feminists can definitely read this (of course, this one’s for you, The Spinsters Club is a giveaway clue.)

4 swords4 swords for Amber and her someone and to their adventure together.


About the author:

holly bourne.jpg

Holly Bourne writes for young adults for a living. She is a journalist for www.TheSite.org, an advice and information website for 16-25 year-olds.

Before this, she spent two years working as a local news reporter on the Surrey Mirror and was nominated as Print Journalist of the Year 2010. She also has a first class degree in Journalism Studies and has won awards for her writing.

Her debut novel, Soulmates, is published by Usborne on September 1, 2013.


Have you read any book by her? If you haven’t, please do check her books out.

END 3

One thought on “[Review] How Hard Can Love Be? (Normal, #2) by Holly Bourne

Leave a Reply

