[Top Ten Tuesday] Books I Recently Added To My TBR

It’s that time of the week again where I publish a post about my top ten books of something. For today, it’s all about books I recently added to my TBR. The ever-trustworthy Goodreads helped me what books are on my TBR. So here is a list of those books:

  1. The Killing Jar by Jennifer Bosworth
  2. Chewy Noh and the Phantasm of Winter by Tim Learn
  3. The Sword of Shannara by Terry Brooks
  4. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  5. Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehesi Coates
  6. Brutal Youth by Anthony Breznican
  7. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
  8. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
  9. Red Rising by Pierce Brown
  10. Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

As evidently stated above, there are a few YA books included in the list. Most of them, I believe, are literary works because firstly, I want to widen my horizon this year and by reading books out of my comfort zone is one thing I want to do to be satisfied. Between the World and Me is one of the books I badly want to read this year because I’ve been seeing it everywhere and the cover is eye-catching.

Nonetheless, I will still keep on reading YA because it’s what I like. Literary fictions/non-fictions are just some books I want to try if I’ll like it in the end or not (hopefully, yes). Americanah is also one of the books that I want to read; don’t ask me why because I have no idea. Brutal Youth is a coming-of-age book, and I’ve seen great reviews for this novel. It’s even blurbed by Stephen Chbosky who is the author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower. For A Tale for the Time Being, I just saw it on Goodreads and impulsively added it on my TBR because of its COVER because can you NOT see? I also added The Sword of Shannara on my list because I just saw the first four episodes of the TV show and I love it so much. Having seen that the series is EXTREMELY long, I don’t even know if I’ll even read it anymore.

Blackhearts, The Star-Touched Queen and The Killing Jar are the young-adult books in this list, although I think that Red Rising is in an adult genre. Red Rising is on one of my TBRs a long time ago, but was rekindled again after learning that Morning Star is almost out, and the series is almost ending. Lastly, Chewy Noh is a book I’m going to receive from an author who is unbelievably nice and friendly, and this series is middle grade which genre I also adore, so I’m really excited to acquire these books.


How about you? What books did you just add to your TBR? Comment below so we can talk about it. 

END 3

 

44 thoughts on “[Top Ten Tuesday] Books I Recently Added To My TBR

  1. My friends always recommend Americanah to me so I hope to get to it this year too and I’d like to read Coates’s book as well. Since Shannara tv show came out, I’ve been interested in the book. The show is nice so far.

    Like

  2. Red Rising has been on my list for so long! Hopefully I can read it this year! I really like the Shannara tv show! The Star-Touched Queen sounds great and I really like the cover, it’s definitely in my TBR!

    Like

  3. Red Rising is without a doubt a must read book. It’s such a brutal book and I’m still recovering from the emotional trauma I experienced at the hands of the sequel, Golden Son. I can’t wait for Morning Star.

    Like

  4. A Tale for the Time Being and Americanah is on my TBR too! Maybe we can read it together some time this year 😉 Oh and I didn’t do a TTT this week but I did make a post about my 2016 TBR which you can check out here 😀

    Like

  5. I’ve heard good things about Blackhearts and The Star-Touched Queen. RE Americanah, I started this last year. Such beautiful writing! Unfortunately my dad borrowed the book before I could read more than the first 3rd and I haven’t had it back since!

    Like

      1. Unfortunately just after he borrowed it, they put all their stuff in storage (moving/renovating a new house) so I’m having to wait get my book back to finish it! Luckily he didn’t put Anthony Doerr in store or I might have cried, lol! (He has a habit of co-opting books!)

        Like

  6. I have been meaning to read Shanara forever- then I met Terry Brooks’ niece, who is incredibly awesome, & I felt even worse about not having read it yet! I did just finish Red Rising. After reading the book, I kept trying to find the second in the series in the Teen section eventually to find out that it wasn’t classified as a teen book, but was listed in the adult sci fi section. I’m not sure why this annoyed me so much- I guess it’s a bit more violent than some YA, but I have faith inmost YA readers I know that they could more than handle the book!

    Like

    1. Wow, you met her niece? That’s amazing! Well YA is a different genre from Shannara’s. If you ask me, I wouldn’t place it on the YA section because YA books are completely different from books like Shannara, but teens can handle reading them although having the YA genre to that series doesn’t really fit well. That’s just my opinion. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. True… I think with Red Rising, I might have felt like it was a little sexist- I enjoyed Red Rising but found it a more masculine book than I usually pick up, & I couldn’t quite get over the idea that it clashes with their tendency to market YA books for girls. (Although, I mean, honestly, I think the YA genre has so many different kinds of books crammed into it now, it’s a little ridiculous)

        Like

Leave a Reply

