[Review] The Siren by Kiera Cass

the siren

Title: The Siren
Author: Kiera Cass
Publication: January 26th 2016 by HarperTeen
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Mermaids
Pages: 336
Format: ARC

A girl with a secret.
The boy of her dreams.
An Ocean between them.

Years ago, Kahlen was rescued from drowning by the Ocean. To repay her debt, she has served as a Siren ever since, using her voice to lure countless strangers to their deaths. Though a single word from Kahlen can kill, she can’t resist spending her days on land, watching ordinary people and longing for the day when she will be able to speak and laugh and live freely among them again.

Kahlen is resigned to finishing her sentence in solitude…until she meets Akinli. Handsome, caring, and kind, Akinli is everything Kahlen ever dreamed of.

Falling in love with a human breaks the Ocean’s rules. But for the first time in a lifetime of following the rules, Kahlen is determined to follow her heart.


Shelf it on Goodreads!

Also, you can pre-order it on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & NobleKobo | iBooks

My thoughts :

My very first mermaid/siren book that I have read, and I am not disappointed entirely. Throughout the book, I felt like the author was playing safe on making it a neutral book for everyone. Understanding that this was Kiera Cass’s very first book and having not read The Selection series yet, this was an okay book for me. It didn’t really make me excited or surprised in some aspect that I thought it would, considering that she’s a popular author who gained a lot of positive reviews.

This issue was the downside of her book, and I was hoping for something risky because even though the characters were great and well-developed, the story just didn’t seem to keep up with the pace of the characters.

“I instantly dragged my fingers across a shelf of book spines, in love with each one already. Books were a safe place, a world apart from my own.”

Now, let me tell you a story about Kahlen who has become a siren in exchange to live.  She has found love unexpectedly, but unfortunately, her voice is deadly. She serves the Ocean who is their Mother who provides and makes her sirens live. The Ocean always commands her sirens to feed her whenever She’s hungry, and by the singing of the sirens, they lure people to the sea. These people being lured are eventually getting eaten by the Ocean.

Cool, right? I hope I did give a spoiler-free gist of the book because the plot itself is intriguing; however, the execution was lacking. For a really short book, it was fine since this book is unlike any other trashy romance novels (*cough*) which they say that The Selection series kind-of is. I really hope that Kiera Cass can deem herself worthy after I read that series.

“Life is pointless. Love is pointless. And still, wouldn’t I do every second of it all over again?”
“I’m guessing yes.”
“Undoubtedly. Yes. Yes every time.”

From the beginning of the book, it did not really grab my attention as it pertains to the story. The writing of Kiera Cass is all right due to being easy to read. She continually fails to pique my interest until the climax of the book finally appeared somehow, making everything much better. To be honest, the concept of this book is too good to be executed poorly. The author was so close to making this book an exceptional one. I also want to commend her for creating one of the most satisfying endings ever that left me completely astounded. I was like this the whole time, “What’s happening? How did that happen? Did I miss something?”

Despite of some of my negative insights about this book, I still recommend this to everyone who is a big fan of mermaids and mythology. Also to Kiera Cass’s fans, of course. If you are in a mood for a short book with a few romance scenes, then this one is for you. I can’t wait to read the rest of her other books.

4 swords

4 swords of tail-floppily awesomeness.


About the author:

kiera cassKiera Cass is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Selection series. She is a graduate of Radford University and currently lives in Christiansburg, Virginia, with her family. Kiera spent the first nineteen years of her life by the ocean. It never tried to eat her. You can learn more about Kiera’s books, YouTube videos, and love of cake at http://www.kieracass.com and follow her on Twitter @kieracass.

 


Have you added this book to your TBR? Have you read The Selection series? Comment below and let’s talk about it.

END 3

21 thoughts on “[Review] The Siren by Kiera Cass

  1. It’s been in my tbr list for really long. I love mythologies, mermaids and sirens but I have never read anything about Sirens before so I think I’ll give it a try.
    Interesting review, though! 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m happy to see that you liked this!

    I will read is for sure. I do like the idea of the book and I certainly hope it turns out good. I find that Cass’s writing style contradicts itself so maybe that’ll be fixed in this book as well. I liked those quotes you shared.

    Great review 🙂

    Like

  3. I’ve been debating whether or not to read this book because I enjoyed parts of the Selection series. I’ll add this to my list of books to read. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

