[Review] This Is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang

this is where the world ends

Title: This Is Where the World Ends
Author: Amy Zhang
Publication: March 22nd 2016 by Greenwillow Books
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: ARC

Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s been ever since elementary school, when Janie Vivien moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It’s the perfect friendship—as long as no one finds out about it. But then Janie goes missing and everything Micah thought he knew about his best friend is colored with doubt.


Shelf it on Goodreads!

Also, you can buy it on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | KoboiBooks

My thoughts:

I received an advanced reader’s copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion.

God, this was a hard book to read even though it’s a very short book. It started dull and continued to be dull as I kept on reading the book. I had so much expectations set on Amy Zhang because her previous bestseller, Falling into Place, was getting a lot of hype, and this was a major let-down. I’ll tell you why.

Firstly, the writing is completely annoying. It has a factor that makes me want to cringe all day long while reading it. I definitely endured this and finished the book. Luckily, that started to disintegrate while I’m reaching the middle of the book which started to get interesting and the writing got less annoying.

“It’s easier like this, just to be us. It’s easier like this to see how beautiful the earth and life and we are. We are stars and the purple-red-blue sky in the background. We are streamers and ribbons tied to trees and balloons that dance in the wind. We are shadows, the too-sharp angle of his nose and the frizzy strands of hair falling into my face. We breathe in the helium and sing show tunes to each other in unrecognizable voices.”

Secondly, alternate chapters are a good aspect of the book wherein there is “past” and “future” chapters. Basically “before” and “after” in the book. What I didn’t like about this is that I started to lose interest with “before” and as much as I want to continue reading “after” (because it got interesting), “before” is slowly making me want to give up reading the book and the “after” parts.

Thirdly, this book is like something I have already read before, and it just bored me to read more and more, knowing the outcome over and over again. Expected, yes. Good thing that the ending was a good turn of events because I finally found something that I like about this book.

“If there is one thing that science and religion agree on, it’s the fact that the world is going to end. Maybe the sun will go out or God will rain his wrath down or a giant wolf will swallow the earth whole, but throughout it all is the pervasive idea of entropy. It’s all unraveling. Everything is stumbling toward an ending.”

Lastly, the inconsistency is horrible. On one hand, it finally gets better and I was happy to see some improvements, but then, on the other hand, it fell completely flat. What happened?  Moreover, most times, the book is more less interesting than more more interesting.

All in all, it is a great book with poor execution. Well, that’s just for me. A lot of people found it good because of her writing, and I completely believe that she played it well by using her words to create some melancholic parts of the book and its ending. She greatly ended the book, but she definitely forgot polishing the start which should be a page-turner. However, you all should still definitely check it out.

3 swords3 swords of disappointment and some satisfaction!


About the author:

amy zhang.jpg

Amy Zhang used to have lots of imaginary friends. When people told her to grow up, she turned her imaginary friends into characters and started telling their stories. When she isn’t writing, she can be found playing piano, hitting balls on the tennis court, or struggling through her weekly existential crisis. She lives in Wisconsin with her family.


Have you read any book by Amy Zhang? Comment below and let’s talk about it. 

END 3

 

7 thoughts on “[Review] This Is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang

  1. I’ve been seeing this around, but I’m not sure that it’s really for me. It seems way too easy for Zhang to make it unnecessarily dramatic. Even from the quotes you have, I can see what you mean by the writing being annoying — I’m not sure I’d be able to stick with an entire novel like that. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I’m sorry this book didn’t live up to your expectations. I’ve seen this book about but not paid much attention to is if I’m honest. I can definitely see it being hard to get invested in a book when you struggle with the writing. I quite like the alternate chapters if I find that both stories are interesting and help shed some light on how the character got from point A to B. I think for now I’ll give this book a miss.

    Like

Leave a Reply

