[Top Ten Tuesday] My Recent 5-Star Reads

It’s been a long time since I did a Top Ten Tuesday feature, and finally, I’m doing it. This feature is hosted by the amazing The Broke and the Bookish. For this day, I am going to list the 10 books that I’ve rated with 5 stars. Being the skeptic I am, it’s been a long time since I rated a book 5 stars.

Without further ado, here are the books that I rated with 5 stars:

  1. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

the serpent king

This has been by far my number 1 contemporary read last year. Yes, it’s my most recent 5 star read. I haven’t rated 5 stars this month yet. Mostly 3 and 4 stars. But this one is completely phenomenal. Such a great book and such an amazing and friendly author. This book deserved all the hype that it’s getting nowadays.


2. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

queen of shadows

This is the only book by Sarah J. Maas which I’ve rated 5 stars. Despite its heftiness, I really enjoyed flipping the pages of this book. How it is written was breathtakingly beautiful with a descriptive world-building. Definitely an amazing fantasy series with a kick-ass female protagonist.


3. November 9 by Colleen Hoover

november 9

I never thought that I would like the New Adult genre. Ever since I’ve immersed myself with Colleen Hoover’s book when she came to our country to visit, I was obsessed. Reading her books makes me feel like I’m watching a movie. How she writes her books is funny and heartbreaking at the same time.


4. The Rose Society by Marie Lu

the rose society.jpg

Marie Lu has been one of the two of my all-time favorite authors, and she has never ever disappointed me by her books. From her dystopian series to this dark fantasy series, she has completely blown me away. This book is amazing as you might hear it around. This is surely the best book she has ever written.


5. Blood and Salt by Kim Liggett

blood and salt

This book was way different. I love how Kim Liggett writes a new kind of genre. It’s a romance and horror genre or “hor-mance” as she stated. It was an easy read for me with dual point-of-views. Could’ve been a great fantasy read if it weren’t a horror book but I really enjoyed reading this one.


6. A Work in Progress by Connor Franta

a work in progress

I have never read a memoir before, and I never regret buying this one. I’ve been a fan of Connor Franta since I watched his YouTube videos. In his memoir, he brings realism and his encounters with the hardships in life as he comes out. My favorite part about this memoir is his passion for photography. I, myself, have a passion for it as well that’s why I enjoyed reading this one.


7. Confess by Colleen Hoover

confess

This is the first book by Colleen Hoover I have read. Story and concept-wise I enjoyed reading how Auburn and Owen met and how they started to be as lovers. I also love how artworks the character did were also included in this book. I confess that I love New Adult. Maybe, start reading one again.


8. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

everything, everything

I have received this book as an advanced copy, and how beautiful the cover is is also how beautiful the story itself is. This book deals with a girl with a sickness that she’s basically allergic to everything and can only stay at the house to be safe. How she copes with a new neighbor is definitely life-changing for her. The romance and the plot twist are totally everything, everything to me.


9. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

simon vs the homo sapiens agenda

I do not often read books with an LGBT element, but this one turns out to be so good. How the author adds cute and quirkiness of the characters and how she adds Oreos to the book definitely made this one so much better than expected. Really enjoyed reading this!


10. Stand-Off by Andrew Smith

stand off.jpg

Okay, like I always say on my blog or on my Instagram, Andrew Smith is a fantastic author and has been one of my all-time favorite authors since I’ve read Winger. I love how he writes simply but conveys a lot of values to the audience. Ever since I’ve read that book, I was in a hangover and don’t know if I’ll ever read again because the ending was so unexpectedly good, and as I read that book, I just kept laughing and laughing.


What’s your most recent 5-star read? Comment below and let’s talk about it.

END 3

20 thoughts on “[Top Ten Tuesday] My Recent 5-Star Reads

  1. Everything, Everything was seriously the best book I read last year. The end broke my heart, did NOT see that one coming!!! I love seeing people loving it like I do. β™‘β™‘β™‘β™‘

    Like

    1. You should read The Serpent King. It’s one of the books I constantly and repeatedly tell people to read. It’s an amazing book. I hope you enjoy it. Also for those other two fantasy series, they’re super amazing! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So many amazing books in this list. I’ve only read one Colleen Hoover book so far and I was impressed and I think it’s high time I picked up another and November 9 sounds like one I’m going to enjoy.
    I’ve heard constant praise for The Serpent King and I am so desperate to get my hands on a copy as soon as possible.
    The Young Elites is a series I’ve been keeping my eye on. I’m really intrigued by the story but I think I’ll wait until the final book is out so I can binge read the entire series. πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. You won’t be disappointed with November 9. I love it better than Confess. For The Serpent King, yes, you have to get a copy. I completely love that book! For The Young Elites, a fantastic series with badass characters. Everything is so good about that series.

      And thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

