[Review Fest #2] Emotions by Arnulfo Cantarero

emotions

Title: Emotions
Author: Arnulfo Cantarero
Publication: May 15th 2013
Genre: Science Fiction
Pages: 347
Format: Paperback

Jason Ariaz is not your average 22 year old. He has been genetically and cybernatically enhanced but that’s only the beginning. He is an emotionless extraterrestrial born to human parents and living amongst us. Both him and his implanted thinking computer were damaged on landing and must go through life as less than what they really are. The purpose of their mission: to gain permanent emotions from the more primitive society that is Earth. If he is successful, he will be the first of his species to do so in nearly 200,000 years.

Hope lies in the fact that he is capable of emotional episodes and he has been able to forge true friendships. However, he does have the chance of completing his mission if he can truly care for Ariel, the closest human in his life. But he better know his heart soon. Their lives are in danger of ending tonight, unless he can recover what his species has lost.


Shelf it on Goodreads!

Also, you can buy it on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble

My thoughts:

I received a review copy from the author himself in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion.

Emotions is about an extraterrestrial being that came to Earth, trying its best to fit in and pretending to be a human being. Jason is basically emotionless. He can’t feel nor encounter any emotion at all, be it anger or happiness. However, all of these starts to change as he copes and acts like a real human person.

As good as the plot sounds like, this was a real disappointment. Everything about this book was wrong, except the story. The dialogue and conversation among the characters are so awkward and weird. The words that come out from their mouth are wrongly used in this book. Their dialogue might sound like forced or something. I really didn’t like reading the dialogue part because there are some parts where I unexpectedly cringe.

“Emotions are what give variety to life. Made it livable or unlivable and one could get pleasure or pain from them.”

Also, the whole thing was confusing. There were a lot of characters to swallow in, and I just can’t bear shifting from chapter to chapter with new characters being introduced. It was way too fast. Then, this problem seems to change as it progresses and everything became better. Profoundly, I love the characters per se that they have an element of fun, but Jason’s fast is a character to be disgusted of. If you read this book, you’ll know why.

Reading Emotions gave me a lot of mixed emotions. Most of it was anger because it was written poorly. The entire concept of it is brilliant, but horribly executed. This does not just bother me, but the grammatical and spelling errors in the book too. The errors do not affect my rating at all, but it’s something worth pointing out. In some parts, the message it wanted to convey didn’t make any sense, but as I re-read it for several times, it still did not make concrete sense. It was hard to read it this way.

“I don’t know if I could feel something for her as well I thought to myself. Having emotions sometimes seemed even better than getting my true heritage and all the power that came with it. To be able to feel permanently, that would be something.”

Another emotion or feeling I felt while reading this was love. Sure, I may not really like this book, but I love the story that it wants to portray to the audience about love. Jason is obviously a being that is unable to feel love nor experience it. Nonetheless, he is trying his best to feel what a human person feels, and be like that.

Overall,  I may recommend this book or I may not. I have some love-hate relationship with the book itself. I just didn’t like how it was written and there was a large room of improvement that could’ve made this book so much better. The awkward dialogue just bothered me so much; however, story-wise, it’s great.

3 swords3 swords for my love/hate for this.


About the author:

arnulfo cantarero.jpg

Arnulfo Cantarero has been a lover of good storytelling since a young age. He writes stories that bring the reader into a new world of innovative ideas and worlds never imagined before. Where new concepts meet old ones and make something completely new.


What are you favorite science fiction books? Comment below and let’s talk about it.

END 3

Leave a Reply

