[Review Fest #4] Dying to Live by Vincent J. Monteleone

Note: This is the last review of my Review Fest. I don’t think I will do this again, but if needed, I will. This is my consecutive reviews from authors that gave me a review copy of their books. I am very much grateful to them.
dying to live

Title: Dying to Live
Author: Vincent J. Monteleone
Publication: December 29th 2015 by iUniverse
Genre: Fiction, Drama
Pages: 218
Format: Paperback

Dying to Live introduces Brendon Merullo, a boy with the usual childhood fantasies of winning the World Series for the Yankees, the NBA Championship for the Knicks, and the Super Bowl for the Jets. Unfortunately for the cause of New York sports, he puts away his dreams and then works-hard-and makes a success of his life, at least, according to the world’s standards. The author, Vincent J. Monteleone, shares the outcome of dreams and work colliding:

The eight-year-old version of me would actually be disgusted with the man I grew up to be. I rarely do anything that I want to do during the day because I am too busy working. Then when I get home I am too tired to do anything fun or that I want to do. Usually I just end up sitting on the couch in front of the television like a zombie until I cannot keep my eyes open any longer and it is time to go up to bed to rest up for another day of the daily grind.

But then, one day Brendon goes to the doctor and hears news he never expected to hear. From that moment on, he begins to discover the deep truths about life and death.


Shelf it on Goodreads!

Also, you can buy it on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks

My thoughts:

I received a review copy from the author himself in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion.

Truly a powerful short book that can change millions of lives. It comprises a lot of values embedded on every chapters, continuously reminding us how important life is and how important that we should cherish the specific time given to us and use it to live our lives with a purpose.

In this debut novel, a man named Brendon, who has a big dream, has recently been diagnosed with cancer. All his dreams shattered one by one. Before this happened, he’s been obsessed with money and other things that are keeping him away from his family, and because of this occurrence, he finally realizes the importance of time before he slowly dies of cancer. From there, he’s dying to live just to live his last days with his family.

“It doesn’t matter how nice that expensive watch looks on your wrist if you don’t know how to tell time correctly. It doesn’t matter how much money you have, if it costs you too much to make it.”

Throughout the inspiring pages of this book, I felt myself being motivated and encourage to do something I have never done in my life, wanting me to take a risk on something. I love that this could’ve been better if it was a self-help book rather than being a novel as it is. What made me love this is that it felt like the author really poured his heart all over the book made the book a thousand times better.

Besides the positive side it’s shown, I have some problems with it. First, being that this book is of without any dialogue at all. I was struggling to read because it was all story-telling, nevertheless, I enjoyed the uniqueness as it progresses.

“You do not need to do something extraordinary, like Christopher Columbus did by discovering America, to live on forever as legend. All you have to do is stay true to what is in your heart and do your part to make the world around you a better place for all those who come in contact with you.”

Next, being overloaded with inspirations, it was like just a collection of inspirational quotes rather than a novel on some parts.  But on other parts, it’s just a-okay and can be read easily. This whole thing can actually be a speech, and its core as novel would remain the same.

Overall, I love how the way it is, inspirational and such, but the problems that I encountered are things that make me uninterested to read further. Still, if you’re looking to be motivated to do something, read this and live it. The purpose of this book is to be shared to everyone, telling everyone how life is very important. Definitely recommended!

3 swords3 swords because cancer can kick its own ass! (lol)


About the author:

vincent j monteleone.jpg

Vincent J. Monteleone has poured passion into writing Dying to Live, his debut novel. In 2013 he earned a business degree from Baruch College. Since then, he has discovered alternatives to the view of the world he learned about in his college classes. Theres alternatives shape his passions and his writing.


What inspirational quote do you live by? Comment below and let’s talk about it.

END 3

 

Leave a Reply

