[Review] The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

the darkest cornersTitle: The Darkest Corners
Author: Kara Thomas
Publication: April 19th 2016 by Kara Thomas
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become.

There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them.

Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesn’t have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons—and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day they’ll disappear for good.

Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial, Callie drifted and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch.

But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette—to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.

Only the closer Tessa gets to the truth, the closer she gets to a killer—and this time, it won’t be so easy to run away.


Shelf it on Goodreads!

Also, you can buy it on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks

My thoughts:

I received a review copy from Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion.

This book just literally kept me on the edge of my seat. I’ve been looking forward to what is going to happen next. There is just like a rollercoaster of mystery and drama, added with a lot of dark aspects. Mystery isn’t really a thing of mine, but I gave it a shot, and it has blown me away.

The Darkest Corners is about a girl named Tessa who’s had a horrible past wherein her cousin, Lori, was murdered by a local notorious killer known as the Ohio River Monster, victimizing helpless girls. She moved to another house after this awful occurrence a long time ago, but now, she came back to visit his prisoned father. She now finds herself piecing everything up that will lead her to knowing who really is this killer.

The writing was beautiful and definitely easy to read. I kind-of read this book in one-sitting, but I need to eat lunch, so I had to put it off for a moment. During my break, I’ve been itching to read more from this book. It gives me thrilling and exciting moments that make me want to come back for more.

“There are worse things in this world than monsters, and somehow, they always manage to find me.”

Although that I love the characters, they were a bit expected. For a mystery genre, you know what to expect on protagonists and such, so I was looking forward to another protagonist that will probably do something different, nonetheless I still enjoyed reading the characters and how they cope with the events. Not that much irritating for me.

Also, the start of this book was a bit slow, but suddenly changed its pace after the first hundred pages. My favorite part of this book will definitely be the twist. I thought the book ended and I was like “That was the twist?” with a questioning look of mine. But then, I continued reading, and there was more. The ending was truly unexpected as I thought was expected. Boy, was I wrong!

Recommending this book to everyone, definitely mystery lovers out there. Even if mystery isn’t right up your alley and want to start reading one, this can be the start to your love for mystery. I will doubtlessly read more book written by Kara Thomas in the near future.

4 swords
4 swords for keeping me on the edge of my seat!


About the author:

kara thomasKara Thomas is the author of THE DARKEST CORNERS, coming April 2016 from Random House/Delacorte. She is also the author of the Prep School Confidential series from St. Martin’s Griffin under the pen name Kara Taylor. Kara has written for Warner Brothers Television and currently writes full-time on Long Island, where she lives with her husband and rescue cat.

 


What’s your favorite mystery book? Comment below and let’s talk about it.

END 3

 

2 thoughts on “[Review] The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Leave a Reply

