[Review] Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

tell me three things.jpg

Title: Tell Me Three Things
Author: Julie Buxbaum
Publication: April 5th 2016 by Delacorte Press
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 336
Format: ARC

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?
Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Shelf it on Goodreads!

Also, you can buy it on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | KoboiBooks

My thoughts:

I received an advanced reader’s copy of this book as a part of the blog tour hosted by Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review. This does not influence my opinion.

So, Tell Me Three Things. I’ll tell you three things that I like about this book. I tell you- this book is so good and definitely one of the best contemporary book I read this year. I had a Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda vibe while reading this book because of the anonymous emails and not knowing who’s the person behind those emails. Thanks to this book by Julie, my brain triggered and functioned just to create some theories who that person could possibly be.

This book revolves around Jessie Holmes who just transferred to Los Angeles because of her father who just met a person online, falling in love with her and wanting to move in with them. Also because that his wife died. After a few days of attending her new school in, she suddenly receives an anonymous email that goes by the name Somebody/Nobody (SN). This person has become Jessie’s guide throughout her new life in Los Angeles and still, she has no idea who she’s talking to, and also, they’re exchanging three things about themselves as they become closer and more comfortable with each other.

“Perfect days are for people with small, realizable dreams. Or maybe for all of us, they just happen in retrospect; they’re only now perfect because they contain something irrevocably and irretrievably lost.”

Here are three things that I like about this book: (1) It is fun reading this book. The writing was easy to read, and the story is so interesting, making this one a real page-turner as I finished the book in one-sitting. The characters in the story sound so real and fun. Thus, I felt like I’m in their world and the characters felt like my friends in the fictional world.

slap
*me while reading this book*

(2) I like how balanced this book is. There is an enough amount of emails and messages that Jessie and Somebody/Nobody exchange to make the story more interesting. It’s really cute how they sound weird to each other, knowing that Jessie has no idea who she’s talking to. Even I cannot bear not knowing who I’m talking to; there is a need for me to know everything. Sometimes. Jessie is probably dying to knowing who SN is.

“But sometimes a kiss is not a kiss is not a kiss. Sometimes it’s poetry.”

(3) Lastly, the number of pancakes mentioned is insurmountable, and I just want some pancakes in IHOP. Even the cover of this book was an enigma for me, making me think about the connection of those heart waffles to the story itself. The cover of this book is simple but exceptionally-looking. Surely, the cover is just as beautiful as the story, but I somehow found the story quite lacking, making me take off one star.

(4) Okay, I was just kidding, I have to tell you four things. Yes, I lied. Not a big deal. The ending of this book was phenomenal. I love how my theory is right, and I love how perfect it is that my ship has sailed, although there were times that I was confused of my ships. There were many. The ending of this book was unlike any other, confusing you for a bit, but I really love how it ended. Yup. Phenomenal, this book is. I recommend it to everyone who loves mystery in their romance.

4 swords
4 swords for too much cuteness!


Have you added Tell Me Three Things to your TBR? Comment below and let’s talk about it.

END 3

8 thoughts on “[Review] Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Leave a Reply

