April Reading Wrap-Up + Monthly Recap

I’m very very proud to have read 13 books last month. Yes, 13. I’m not a reading machine nor someone who does nothing but read. I’m just thankful that I have no distractions last month. Now, guess what, I have. I already read 2 books, but that’s a few number to me because I want to read a lot of books this summer. When school comes, I doubt I’ll be able to read quickly.

This is the month when my 5-star ratings have been given out.

  1. Touched by Elisa S. Amore
  2. Dying to Live by Vincent J. Monteleone
  3. Never Stop Falling by Ashley Drew (e-book)
  4. The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas
  5. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  6. Swan Boy by Nikki Sheehan
  7. The Manifesto on How to be Interesting by Holly Bourne
  8. My Seventh-Grade Life in Tights by Brooks Benjamin
  9. Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes
  10. The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood
  11. Ruined by Amy Tintera
  12. The Blood Between Us by Zac Brewer
  13. The Outliers by Kimberly McCreight

may wrap up.jpg

My very first 5-star read this year was The Manifesto on How to be Interesting, and it was literally good from start to finish. It was funny and relatable, and I already posted my review of this. You can check it out here. That book is the highlight of my month, and I have never been disappointed with Holly Bourne’s books.

However, the book that was a complete disappointment is, sad to say, Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes. Before you kill me, I want to explain why. The book kept on rambling nonsense about the Queen, and I’m baffled why this one is a book. It has no story at all. I’m warning you – it’s boring as hell.

Also, there’s another disappointment. A lot of people loved this book. I didn’t. It’s a hyped series and when I read The Raven Boys, it felt dull. I didn’t understand the story; the writing was hard to get into. Everything was just pointless, but I continued reading with The Dream Thieves. Questions remained unanswered. I put down the book, and read a new book. Sorry, The Raven Boys fans. 😦

5 stars

  • The Manifesto on How to be Interesting
  • Ruined

4 stars

  • Touched
  • The Darkest Corners
  • Never Stop Falling
  • Swan Boy
  • My Seventh-Grade Life in Tights
  • The Square Root of Summer
  • The Blood Between Us

3 stars

  • The Raven Boys
  • The Outliers

2 stars

  • Queen of Hearts

That’s it for my reading wrap-up. For my blog recap, it wasn’t a really big improvement because I had a mini-hiatus, and to be honest, I feel lazy to update my blog sometimes. I think everyone becomes lazy from time to time. As much as I want to stay from my blog for a while, I can’t because I have a lot of books to review. Even though it feels like a chore, I’m still glad that it keeps me on my blog.

So for last month, my blog has:

  • 2,461 views
  • 1,394 visitors
  • 684 likes
  • 192 comments

Not bad right? Hopefully, I’ll be able to improve my stats this month because I’m losing my skills, yo. I need to get my creative juices back. If only grocery stores sell these kinds of juices. Please.


What are your humble-brag-worthy (lol) achievements last month? Comment below and let’s talk about it.

END 3

11 thoughts on “April Reading Wrap-Up + Monthly Recap

  1. Wow congratulations on being able to read so many books this month!
    I tried to pick up The Raven Boys but I’m not sure if it was just me or the book but I really couldn’t get into it. I didn’t even make it half way because I really didn’t understand it.
    I do vow to try and read it again once my exams are over so I can say I wasn’t stressed about University then I will know if I truly like the book. I have seen it hyped up though and I have such high hopes that I don’t want it to be a fail for me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

