[Review] A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes, #2) by Sabaa Tahir

a-torch-against-the-night

Title: A Torch Against the Night
Author: Sabaa Tahir
Publication: August 30th 2016 by Razorbill
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 452
Format: ARC

Elias and Laia are running for their lives. After the events of the Fourth Trial, Martial soldiers hunt the two fugitives as they flee the city of Serra and undertake a perilous journey through the heart of the Empire.

Laia is determined to break into Kauf—the Empire’s most secure and dangerous prison—to save her brother, who is the key to the Scholars’ survival. And Elias is determined to help Laia succeed, even if it means giving up his last chance at freedom.

But dark forces, human and otherworldly, work against Laia and Elias. The pair must fight every step of the way to outsmart their enemies: the bloodthirsty Emperor Marcus, the merciless Commandant, the sadistic Warden of Kauf, and, most heartbreaking of all, Helene—Elias’s former friend and the Empire’s newest Blood Shrike.

Bound to Marcus’s will, Helene faces a torturous mission of her own—one that might destroy her: find the traitor Elias Veturius and the Scholar slave who helped him escape…and kill them both.


Shelf it on Goodreads!

Also, you can buy it on: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | KoboiBooks

My thoughts:

I received an advanced reader’s copy of this book from Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review for a blog tour (that I failed to complete on the desired date–so sorry!). This does not affect my opinion.

I cannot even begin to comprehend how I feel about this series. It has achieved remarkably a ton of reviews that talk about how amazing this series is, but somehow, I feel completely left behind. I keep on seeing my friends loving and raving about the series non-stop, and I mean, this book is undoubtedly great with its raw and different plot line; however, it just did not work for me. It was something between great and OK.

A Torch Against the Night merely continues with the cliffhanger ending of the first book, An Ember in the Ashes. With Laia in a mission to rescue her brother, Darin, from imprisonment, she finds herself assisted by Elias. Both have bounties on their head–making their mission more difficult–with the Commandant eyeing every step they make. They begin to uncover the truth as they reach nearer the prison.

“Most people,” Cain says, “are nothing but glimmers in the great darkness of time.”

One thing I have high praises about this series is its brilliant writing style. Every time I turn a page, I begin to savor the words utilized to craft this fantastical story. The world that the author created through words is just beyond amazing, and all I have is mad respect for her just because of her use of words in this series.

Although, there are still some questions left unanswered which I expected to unravel along the story of the second installment. The story just completely went to a different direction that somehow also interconnects with the original direction. As much as some characters were given deserving spotlight, some significant characters were failed to be given the same, like Teluman or the Resistance itself.

“Don’t lock yourself away from those who care about you because you think you’ll hurt them or–or they’ll hurt you. What point is there in being human if you don’t let yourself feel anything?”

I like how Helene’s point of view was added in this because she plays a bigger role than her from the first book. Her struggles as a characters definitely added to the excitement and thrill that I consumed from every single page of her perspective. From an average road the author took, she then made a huge U-turn to mold and concoct a new kind of story, making use of the characters’ driving emotions to gain a new kind of interest from the readers. I mean, that’s what I felt by reading the first and second book.

A Torch Against the Night is entitled literally–for me. As I see a cliché start, an ember of flame then kindled and sparked my attention. This book has become a medium of light in a darkness that I thought this series will head into.

 

4 swords4 swords for being a torch against the night–literally!


About the author:

sabaa tahir.jpg

Sabaa Tahir grew up in California’s Mojave Desert at her family’s 18-room motel. There, she spent her time devouring fantasy novels, raiding her brother’s comic book stash and playing guitar badly. She began writing An Ember in the Ashes while working nights as a newspaper editor. She likes thunderous indie rock, garish socks and all things nerd. Sabaa currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her family.


Does anyone still read my posts? Sorry for my sudden absence. Comment below and let’s talk about stuff.

END 3

One thought on “[Review] A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes, #2) by Sabaa Tahir

  1. Oh my god! I’ve been waiting for this book and so lucky of you to get an ARC! 🙂 I LOVED the first book and I’m soooo excited to read this one. Great review! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

