The Book Break

There are a lot of things that happened in my life. As you can see from my previous posts, all I probably rambled about is my hectic schedule. School hit me hard like a truck unexpectedly. I really thought that I could read A LOT of books this year. But alas, no luck, not at all. If you check out my Goodreads account, you’ll see no progress at all. As Goodreads kindly stated, I’m 17 books behind schedule.

Disgusting. I suck at this. Earlier this year, I remember that I’ve been reading swiftly without hindrance. Now, school has completely taken over all of my time. It is currently my break, but due to unfortunate events, I’m still at a reading slump. It seems like my blog is not only in a hiatus but also my reading. This irks me, and I think that I won’t make any better progress this end of the year.

Motivation, please possess me now.


How long is your longest reading slump? Comment below and let’s talk about it.

END 3

6 thoughts on “The Book Break

  1. There’s nothing disgusting about being too busy to keep up with your intended reading schedule. No one’s gonna judge you, and there’s no good reason to judge yourself. Busy happens! The books will still be there waiting for you when you have more time for them. =)

    My longest reading slump was the two years after I finished my master’s degree. My degree’s in YA/children’s lit (but, of course, the degree also required study of world lit, lit across various centuries, sci-fi, poetry, etc., so it wasn’t ALL YA ALL THE TIME), and I was booked out by the time I graduated. I spent my free time during the following two years pursuing non-book-related hobbies–and on the one hand it felt great, because three years of grad school didn’t leave time for hobbies, but on the other hand felt awful because I’d suddenly become a book person who *didn’t want to read books for two years.* Kind of an identity crisis going on there.

    But hey, everything worked out in the end. It will for you, too–though hopefully much faster than it did for me. Good luck with school! =)

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! Can’t wait for the school year to end, but I don’t know what will happen if I would still be in the mood for reading. Haha! I should try reading other kinds of books, maybe it will boost my reading again. Anyway, two years is too long for a reading slump, but I’m glad that you got out from it. Thanks again! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been missing your content but I would rather read your posts when you are able to and it not be a chore.

    I know how you feel with school but it’s extremely important for the rest of your life. After school you can relax and read to your leisure.

    If you don’t want to read then don’t. I’ve really been struggling with my reading because I’ve had to read so many academic articles that I don’t really ever want to pick up a book for fun.

    You’ll have plenty of incredible new releases to read when you can. Just focus on you, because you’re the most important person in your life, blog friends and followers will be here when you return. And I can’t wait to read what you’ve got to say when you can.

    Like

    1. Awww. Thank you so much for this! I’ve been doing blogging as a chore before, but I want to make it more of a hobby so that I won’t feel forced or anything. I just can’t wait to be in the mood again for reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sometimes I will go weeks without reading, then I’ll jump at a chance to go to the library and get too many books. (In fact, that’s where I am right now, and NaNoWriMo is about to begin! Ahhh!) But it’s totally okay to not read for a while, but keep your appreciation of books alive!

    Like

Leave a Reply

